Sunday, September 14, 2008

Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross

On this day last year, September 14, 2007, Fr. Eduard Perrone, the celebrant elevates the Chalice in the first public Mass - a Solemn High Mass - using the 1962 Missal at Grotto in about 40 years. It was the fruit of Summorum Pontificum - the motu proprio by Pope Benedict XVI which allowed for broader use of the Mass.

I deeply regret that I could not make it to Assumption Grotto today for the Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross. The last I had heard, Fr. Perrone was not going to be able to celebrate a Solemn High because there were not enough priests available who celebrate according to the 1962 Missal. We have a number of priests who celebrate Mass in the Extraordinary Form, including two associates, but circumstances just didn't allow for a Solemn High. That is, unless something changed since last week (feel free to explain in the combox how it went today and who had the Mass).
Here are more times you can catch it:


Solemn High Mass of the Feast of the Exaltation of the Cross in the Extraordinary Form. The Tradional Latin Mass from the Shrine of the Most Blessed

Sacrament in Hanceville, Alabama.
Sun 9/14/08 8:00 AM ET & 5 AM PT LIVE
Mon 9/15/08 12:00 AM ET & 9 PM PT (Sat) Encore

Those time are for Hanceville. I do know they match our time here in Detroit.
Te Deum Laudamus! Home

The obedient are not held captive by Holy Mother Church; it is the disobedient who are held captive by the world!