Friday, October 31, 2008

Over 115 Bishops Have Spoken Out on Priority of Life Issues Heading into Election

EDIT: I have to head off to work, but wish I had time to mail the link below to local media outlets. Please....send the link below to as many media outlets as you can, including the major cable news networks, newspapers, radio stations, etc. Just right-click and "copy shortcut" then paste it in. Use the "report news" tools on their websites. Flood them!!! Mainstream media needs to report this. Many ordinary Catholics who need to see this aren't reading Catholic internet sites or diocesan newspapers.

Several of these lists are now floating around. This one is from Inside Catholic. Deal Hudson explains:

Among the over 115+ bishops who have spoken out in this election in defense of Church teaching are 74 ordinaries (bishops who head dioceses). That's over one-third of the 197 dioceses and archdioceses in the United States.

There are also 5 cardinals and 13 archbishops on the list.

The regional dispersion is rather even: South 10, Southeast 7, Southwest 11, West 6, Northeast 21, Midwest 31, and Northwest 3.

The "red state, blue state" representation is close to even as well: Red 43, Blue 40.

Here is what looks like the final list for the 2008 election. Thanks to all the readers who offered additions and corrections. (Please let me know if I have left any out.)

"A Catholic Mom in Hawaii" has listed these bishops by states and dioceses. Thanks Esther!

1. Archbishop Charles Chaput of Denver
2. Bishop James Conley, auxiliary of Denver
3. Archbishop Donald Wuerl of Washington, D.C.
4. Justin Cardinal Rigali of Philadelphia, chairman of the Committee on Pro-Life Activities
5. Bishop William Lori of Bridgeport, chairman of the Committee on Doctrine
6. Edward Cardinal Egan of New York
7. Bishop Samuel Aquila of Fargo
8. Bishop David Zubik of Pittsburgh
9. Bishop Michael Sheridan of Colorado Springs
10. Archbishop Jose Gomez of San Antonio
11. Bishop Oscar Cantu, auxiliary of San Antonio
12. Bishop William Murphy of Rockville Centre
13. Bishop Edward Slattery of Tulsa
14. Bishop Kevin Farrell of Dallas
15. Bishop Gregory Aymond of Austin
16. Sean Cardinal O'Malley of Boston
17. Bishop Thomas Wenski of Orlando
18. Archbishop John Nienstedt of Saint Paul/Minneapolis
19. Francis Cardinal George of Chicago, President of the USCCB
20. Bishop Robert Vasa of Baker
21. Bishop Jerome Listecki of La Crosse
22. Bishop Richard Lennon of Cleveland
23. Bishop Ralph Nickless of Sioux City
24. Archbishop George Niederauer of San Francisco
25. Bishop Glen Provost of Lake Charles, LA
26. Bishop Nicholas DiMarzio of Brooklyn
27. Bishop Joseph F. Martino of Scranton
28. Archbishop Raymond Burke, Prefect of the Apostolic Signatura
30. Bishop Peter J. Jugis of Charlotte
31. Bishop Michael F. Burbidge of Raleigh
32. Archbishop Joseph Naumann of Kansas City, KS
33. Bishop Robert Finn of Kansas City-St. Joseph, MO
34. Bishop Robert C. Morlino of Madison, WS35. Bishop Ronald Gilmore of Dodge City, KS36. Bishop Paul Coakley of Salina, KS37. Bishop Michael Jackels of Wichita38. Bishop Gerald M. Barbarito of Palm Beach39. Bishop Kevin W. Vann of Fort Worth
40. Bishop Rene H. Gracida, retired, of Corpus Christi
41. Daniel Cardinal DiNardo of Houston
42. Bishop Paul S. Loverde of Arlington
43. Bishop Francis X. DiLorenzo of Richmond
44. Bishop William Murphy of Rockville Center
45. Bishop Robert McManus of Worcester
46. Bishop Arthur Serratelli of Patterson
47. Bishop Robert Herrmann of St. Louis
48. Archbishop Edwin O'Brien of Baltimore
49. Bishop Thomas J. Olmsted of Phoenix
50. Bishop Thomas D. Doran of Rockford
51. Bishop Joseph A. Galante of Camden
52. Bishop Robert J. Baker of Birmingham
53. Archbishop Alexander J. Brunett of Seattle
54. Bishop J. Peter Sartain of Joliet
55. Bishop John M. Smith of Trenton
56. Bishop Earl Boyea of Lansing
57. Bishop Leonard R. Blair of Toledo
58. Bishop Francis J. Dewane of Venice
59. Bishop W. Frances Malooly of Wilmington
60. Bishop John Yanta, retired, of Amarillo
61. Bishop James V. Johnston of Springfield-Cape Girardeau
62. Archbishop John Vlazny of Portland
63. Bishop Blase J. Cupich of Rapid City
64. Bishop Lawrence Brandt of Greensburg
65. Bishop Dennis M. Schnurr of Cincinatti
66. Bishop Larry Silva of Honolulu
67. Bishop Paul Swain of Sioux Falls
68. Bishop Michael J. Sheehan of Santa Fe
69. Bishop Eusebius Beltran of Oklahoma City
70. Bishop Kevin C. Rhoades of Harrisburg
71. Archbishop Daniel Buechlein of Indianapolis
72. Bishop Alexander Sample of Marquette
73. Bishop Timothy McDonnell of Springfield, MA
74. Archbishop Timothy Dolan of Milwaukee
75. Bishop David Ricken of Green Bay
76. Bishop William Higi of Lafayette
77. Bishop Patrick Zurek of Amarillo
78. Archbishop Alfred Hughes of New Orleans
79. Bishop Thomas Tobin of Providence80. Archbishop Wilton D. Gregory of Atlanta
81. Archbishop John F. Donoghue, retired, of Atlanta
82. Bishop George W. Coleman of Fall River, MA
83. Bishop Peter Christensen of Superior, WI
84. Archbishop Elden F. Curtiss of Omaha
85. Bishop Ron Ganier of Louisville
86. Joint Statement by the bishops of New York State (22 bishops)
87. Joint Statement by the bishops of Pennsylvania (16 bishops)
88. Joint Statement by the bishops of Kansas (4 bishops)89. Joint Statement by the bishops of Florida (9 bishops)

Te Deum Laudamus! Home

The obedient are not held captive by Holy Mother Church; it is the disobedient who are held captive by the world!